Posted by: secretagent39 | September 4, 2011

Dogma

“Don’t be trapped by Dogma-which is living with the results of other people’s thinking.”

-Steve Jobs

I’ve always liked the word, “dogma”, because it has the word, “dog”, in it.  I’m an animal lover and I gravitate toward animal lover words.  This is one of them.  I never really knew what that word meant; actually, I never bothered to look it up until I heard Steve give it that slight definition. I also like the word, “catastrophe” and Kitty Q lives up to that definition daily.

Here’s a little word story about “dogma” that I found when looking it up:

Word Story
At the turn of the 17th century, dogma entered English from the Latin term meaning “philosophical tenet.” The Greek word from which it is borrowed means “that which one thinks is true,” and comes ultimately from the Greek dokein  which means “to seem good” or “think.”
The origin of the word dogma  acts as a reminder to English speakers that now-established principals and doctrines were once simply thoughts and opinions of ordinary people that gained popularity and eventually found their way into the universal consciousness of society. 20th century American academic and aphorist Mason Cooley concisely observed that “Under attack, sentiments harden into dogma,” suggesting that dogma is spawned as a defensive act. This idea implies that for every dogma that exists, there is a counter dogma. With so many “truths” out there, there is sure to be a dogma to conveniently fit every set of beliefs.

I hate being on the defensive but I will recognize that this is truly what happens when we stand in the results of other people’s thinking/beliefs/unified principles.  I have my own unified principles and they rarely waver.  Oh, sure, I can give and take within compromises but, as truth resonates so do the challenges in life’s daily bread.

“Every day is a winding road… I get little bit closer… Every day is a faded sign… I get a little bit closer to feelin’ fine…”

-Sheryl Crow

Whether it’s politicians, bosses, spouses, parents, kids, the po-po, religious leaders (I use the term, “leaders” loosely), or rock stars… We are all standing in the results of someone else’s thinking in one way or another. This is why I sometimes feel like I’m screaming at the top of my lungs to hear my own inner voice.  This is also why I have over 4, 000 songs on my iPod and employ them loudly and generously during my daily commuting.

The whole, parenthetical quote from Steve Jobs goes like this:

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

There’s a grammatical error in there and I soooo want to fix it.  My inner voice won’t let me.  It’s a quote, for God’s sake; leave that shit alone.  But I can never just leave well enough alone now, can I?  Nope.  I always see stuff and want to fix it.  That’s just me and, even though that IS me, I still want to fix it.  I’m a fixer.  It is hard work and I seem to grind my fingers and mind to the bone with my constant, incessant, strategically looking for solutions bullshit. It is break time: sing songs loudly, pound the drum slowly, beat the heart madly.

So, I resolve to take my dogma from my dogs: I will live a simple life and revel in simplified solutions and concern myself with nothing more than a whiff of the wind, a good meal, a long, cool drink of water, and love as unconditionally as possible.  I refuse, however, to concern myself with the cat’s butt.  I have my limits.

My own inner voice tells me to live in love and kindness and truths that flow through me as naturally as pork chops and applesauce.  My own inner voice wants to finish that Sheryl Crow song:

” I’ve been swimming in a sea of anarchy
I’ve been living on coffee and nicotine
I’ve been wondering if all the things I’ve seen
Were ever real, were ever really happening”

‘Cause every day is a winding road and, while I get a little bit closer, my Dogma ate your Karma, dude.

There ya go.  Find your own slogan(s) and roll wid it.

Life is good.  Life is grand.  Life will go on… and “…death is the destination we all share… Death is very likely the single best invention of Life.  It is Life’s change agent…”

May we all die a thousand deaths while clearing out the old to make ready for the new.

I humbly accept.

Leave a Reply

Categories

